The Secret Place ⛰

Way up on the mountain

There’s a place I’d like to hide.

A quiet place, a secret place,

A place that’s filled with light.

Away from all the noise.

Away from all the strife.

A place where I can find myself;

Where I’ll renew my mind.

This mountain is not high.

This mountain is not wide.

This mountain is a special place

That I have yet to find.

I know that it is out there.

Or perhaps it is within.

One day I will get there

Oh, the joy I’ll have therein!

Peace will be my greatest friend

And love my companion.

The stars will shine most every night

Above my sweet mountain.

And way up on the mountain

I’ll hear a gentle voice,

“My daughter how I’ve waited for you to

Sift through all the noise.

It’s loud down there, I know,

And filled with darkness too.

My children they can’t hear a thing,

They’re blinded through and through.

But, alas, how I have waited!

You’ve finally made it here!

My daughter you have made it

Your mind is finally clear.

You cried for me, you sought, you prayed.

For you had lost your way.

But as Father’s do, I knew for sure

All would be okay.

Now I have a mission for you,

Go down and spread the news!

Bring them to this mountain,

If only but a few.

The time is drawing near

And the enemy will lose.

I seek those who will worship me

In spirit and in truth.

Before you leave, my daughter,

I have something just for you.

A map back to this mountain

That I know you’ll never lose.

And when he tries to steal it

Look him in the eyes

Tell him that your Father

Gave you back your mind.

Tell him that your Father

Gave you brand new eyes

Tell him that his tricks won’t work

You see past his disguise.”

All my life I’d waited

To reach that mountainside

It’s beckoned me at every turn,

A constant lullaby.

I knew that I would get there;

For his sheep they know His voice.

The key I had to learn

Was how to sift through all the noise.

This mountain is not tall

And this mountain is not wide.

For His kingdom is not somewhere far

It simply dwells inside.

If you wish to find Him,

Quiet down your mind.

Listen to the blowing wind,

His Spirit you shall find. 🕊

Psalms 137:1 By the rivers of Babylon, yea, we wept, when we remembered Zion.

Psalms 91:1 He that dwelleth in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

4 thoughts on “The Secret Place ⛰”

Leave a comment